The Best Honeymoon (Part 1)

26 04 2008
It was fairly easy for us to decide on a destination for our honeymoon. We aren’t beach people. I had never really been on a vacation where I didn’t feel compelled to wake up at the crack of dawn and go sightseeing all day. Our time (and money) was limited, and since I had enough frequent flyer miles for one free domestic ticket, that narrowed our options as well.

During the 4 years that we were together, my husband and I had become quite the foodies and wine lovers (he somewhat of a snob and me just really wanting to try as many varieties as I can) so California wine country immediately made the most sense.

I’m a huge planner. My husband isn’t. But because I was so busy planning the wedding, he took charge and took care of all arrangements, except for lodging, which I refused to give up all control of. It was nice not having to worry about reservations and itineraries, although instead I worried that we would get to Sonoma and wander aimlessly, with no maps or plans. But, I decided to give him the benefit of the doubt, and instead of being anal, I would periodically ask casually what he was planning for us.

The wedding happened, and it was more amazing than I ever thought it would be, and the next afternoon we were on our way to California. I had never been so excited for a vacation in my life. Sure, I had been to some amazing places with my family and on my own, and even with my husband, but this was an entirely different vacation. Devoid of any site- seeing pressure and gourmet food around every corner, it was like being royalty for a week.

vine

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

