We have a contender!

18 06 2009

You know, it’s not as much fun reviewing food that actually tastes good! Can’t I just say that it was almost perfect and leave it at that? No, that wouldn’t be fair to the Bagel Shop across from the Bell Tower on N. 13th St. in North Philadelphia. I am in Week 5 of my Search for the Best Breakfast Sandwich in North Philadelphia and let me tell you something: this latest wonder will be hard to beat.

The unassuming red hut:
Bagel Shop

Red house

Just upon unwrapping the foil, you can tell this sandwich is special. Not only is is cut in half (a hard feat around these parts), but it is wrapped a second time with paper! LOVE! I don’t have to get my hands dirty if I don’t want to. But for the sake of this experiment, I did. I unwrapped the precious paper and got my hands dirty.

wrapped

cut!

I will start with the bagel. Now, maybe the Bagel Shop gets an unfair advantage because, well, it is a bagel shop. So there’s quite a selection of bagels on hand. But this was probably the best everything bagel I have ever had. Not too salty, a little bit sweet, crusty on the inside, chewy on the inside. Bagel heaven.

inside

The man who made this sandwich sure knows his way around a toaster.

toasted

The bacon wasn’t exactly what I like and could have handled a bit more crisp and love but it had an amazing taste.  Tommy’s still holds the market on bacon with their chopped up greasy goodness.  The cheese melted my heart–not too much, not too little, not liquidy, and maintained its melty consistency until I ate the last bite.

inside

The egg was light, not spongy, slightly browned but not dry, and peppery! What a pleasant surprise! If you love pepper like I do, you’ll love this egg.

eggy

egg

Egg Tuckage: SCORE! Except for this tiny little hiccup, you couldn’t have asked for better egg tuckage. I had to get a few angles of this genius egg artistry.

tuckage

tuckage

tuckage

The sandwich was not too greasy so you won’t feel sick when you’re finished–you will probably finish wanting more.  The one small puzzle is the pricing. Sandwiches without cheese are $2.50. With cheese $2.75. Do you know anyone who would not get cheese? Because I don’t. Oh well. I can overlook that because the overall taste was so good: a slightly sweet bagel, spicy pepper, tangy ketchup, salty smoky bacon, with a dollop of cheesy goodness, and a pinch of sesame seeds.

On to the scoring.

Overall appearance: 10

Meat: 7

Egg (quality, quantity, and tuckage): 9

Greasiness: 8

Cheese (quality and quantity): 9

Condiments (quality and quantity.): 9

Carbohydrate Delivery System (credit: Matt Palmer): 10

Price: 7

Accuracy of order: 10

Overall taste: 10

Total score: 89 Hard to beat!

Actions

Information

8 responses

18 06 2009
Naoko

I like this bagel place a lot too!!

18 06 2009
exploreandeat

And the man who works there is the nicest on campus, I think.

19 06 2009
Naoko

I agree. he knows “konnichiwa” and “arigato” too. That’s really nice, right?

19 06 2009
Aliza

Best photo series ever! My favorite: “The man who made this sure knows his way around a toaster.” Omg, your details! Perfect little shack too. All around yum!

19 06 2009
exploreandeat

Thank you so much! I am passionate about my breakfast sandwiches.

1 07 2009
Top 5 Breakfast Sandwiches (so far) « Explore and Eat

[…] Bagel Shop (89 […]

19 08 2009
Breakfast Sandwich Recap: The End is Near « Explore and Eat

[…] Bagel Shop: 89 Ali’s: 84 Sexy Green Truck: 81 Ernie’s: 69 Richie’s: 67 Adriatic Grill: 61 Suzi’s: 61 Ray’s: 60 Eppy’s: 56 McDonald’s: 54 Tommy’s: 53 […]

22 09 2009
Breakfast Sandwich: The Winner « Explore and Eat

[…] 22 09 2009 Drum roll, please. I tried the final breakfast sandwich this morning: The Winner! The Bagel Shop with 89 points! I had to make sure that this sandwich was deserving of such a prestigious title, and […]

Leave a Reply

