Eppy’s Breakfast Sandwich

9 07 2009

Today I continued my tour down Montgomery Avenue to Eppy’s parked right outside of the Student Center.  Maybe it was because I had such high hopes for Eppy’s (best chicken fingers and grilled cheese on campus) that this might have been the worst breakfast sandwich so far. Let’s see how it scores.

 

Eppy's 001

Quick recap:

At first glance it looked OK. Nothing great, nothing unappetizing.  The first bite was doughy and dry and I knew right away I was in trouble.  When I could taste the fillings, which wasn’t often because of the horrible bagel, the peppered bacon had a nice thickness and the cheese was really nice, creamy, tasted like cheese. 

But the stinginess of the bacon turned me off.  One piece?! Really.

And the egg was gross.  So incredibly gross that I felt nauseas for most of the day after eating that egg.  It tasted like it had been cooked on a skillet that hadn’t been cleaned in a few days.  The egg tasted like burnt oil, chicken batter, steak sandwich–all a few days old. It tasted like Oscar’s Tavern smells. I am shuddering at the thought of this egg.  The tuckage was fine, but I hardly noticed past the taste.

Let’s get back to the bagel, briefly. It was dry. It cracked in half like a bagel really shouldn’t do because of the dryness.  It was hardly toasted, unlike my request. I just did not like this sandwich-eating experience.

Eppy's 003

Eppy's 004

Eppy's 006

Eppy's 011

Eppy's 007

Eppy's 008

Eppy's 009

I may still go to Eppy’s, if I am on the south side of campus, and get some chicken fingers or cheese fries.   But never again will I subject myself to a breakfast sandwich here.

Scoring:

Overall appearance: 6

Meat: 4

Egg (quality, quantity, and tuckage): 1

Greasiness: 7

Cheese (quality and quantity): 9

Condiments (quality and quantity.): 7

Carbohydrate Delivery System (credit: Matt Palmer): 3

Price: 6 ($2.85)

Accuracy of order: 9

Overall taste: 4

Total score: 56

Actions

Information

One response

9 07 2009
Dave

Bad Bagel! And only one piece of bacon is pretty harsh. On a different visit to New Jersey, I did try the Taylor Ham on a bagel, which turned out pretty well. Much better bagel in terms of softness and proper toasting. My wife said the request labeled me as a foreigner.

Leave a Reply

