Homemade Lentil Stew

11 10 2009

Avoidance.  That’s what led to, dare I say, a very delicious and improvised lentil stew today.  I was avoiding lesson plans, scraping paint, gardening, cleaning, and packing for a wedding this weekend when I made this:

IMG_3879

First I sauteed some spicy Italian sausage (5 links) until it browned.  Then, I sauteed some chopped onion (1 small), fennel (half of a large bulb), and garlic (2 cloves) until it was soft.  I added the sausage and cooked it with the onion, fennel, and garlic for a few minutes and then poured 4 cups of vegetable broth into the pot with about 3 cups of lentils and some chopped collard greens (you could also use kale or spinach).  After the lentils simmered for a while I had to add about 3 cups of water to cut the saltiness and give it a more stew-like consistency.  The final product was delicious.

IMG_3871

IMG_3876

IMG_3880

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 10 2009
Joy Manning

I love this type of dish. Looks so good! Yum.

12 10 2009
Naoko

I love lentil! looks great!

24 10 2009
Heidi

I want to try that. It sounds tasty.

Leave a Reply

