Chocolate

20 11 2011

We (well, Matt) splurged on some chocolate last weekend:

20111120-141150.jpg

I can’t get enough of the Bacon Bar.  The bacon bits are crispy and probably a little burned, just the way I like it.  And it’s really not gross.  I swear.  Do you like Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups?  Peanut butter is saltiness in chocolate and this is pretty much the same idea.

The TAZA chocolate series is hit-or-miss so far.  Last week we tried the cinnamon flavor, which was phenomenal.  I loved the chili–I thought it was a subtle, sweet heat.  Matt’s more sensitive taste buds didn’t like the heat as much as mine.  Matt’s also tasted much more vanilla than I did in the third flavor we tried.  This chocolate is a tad grainy, but I enjoy that about it.  I learned from Gourmet Sleuth that “Mexican chocolate is made from dark, bitter chocolate mixed with sugar, cinnamon, and sometimes nuts. The end result is a ‘grainy’ less smooth product.” So there you have it.

I’m still trying to decide if the Spanish dark chocolate is too smooth and creamy for a dark chocolate.   It really wasn’t that bitter at all, but it is only 68% cacao.

There are a few other kinds of Taza we need to try and the Vosges website is just overwhelming, so you know what that means.  I’ll be forced to taste more chocolate and let you know what I think.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

